Doré’s La Crème Moisturizer Shows How Clean Beauty Can Be Effective, Environmentally Friendly, and Affordable

Danielle Cappolla
4 min readDec 17, 2022

When it comes to skincare, I look for products that address my skin concerns effectively from companies that share my values. It can be difficult to find inexpensive beauty products that are nontoxic, cruelty-free, recyclable, and deliver promising results in clinical studies. Doré, a new skincare company, checks all these boxes.

Doré has clean beauty in mind with a French twist. Founders Garance Doré and Emily Yeston created a simple, effective, affordable, sustainable skincare line with the style and sophistication of French beauty products.

The skincare line currently has three products: a cleanser, balm, and moisturizer. The products are manufactured in France, the birthplace of founder Garance Doré. Garance, a writer, style blogger, and photographer, envisioned minimalist products, like the ones she remembers from her youth.

Doré’s skincare line is designed with time management in mind. When Garance was interviewed by Hillary Kerr on the Who What Wear podcast, she shared her steadfast belief that “life isn’t meant to spent in front of the mirror.” The quick, easy application of fewer products means wearers have more time to spend outside or pursuing activities they love.

In the past, I’ve tried moisturizers from French beauty brands, like La Roche-Posay, Avène, and Embryolisse. These products were gentle on my sensitive skin. Since Doré is also a French brand, I was eager to see if I would find the same results.

With the holidays approaching and a possible recession on the way, I’ve been looking for ways to make my skincare routine more affordable, yet still effective. As someone who has used Augustinus Bader The Cream unwaveringly for the past year, I was looking for a moisturizer that would have a more affordable price point and keep my sensitive skin hydrated during the colder months.

Doré’s La Crème seemed to be exactly what I was looking for on the surface. At a low price point of $36, it is a more affordable option than Augustinus Bader The Cream ($280).

I admire Doré’s transparency about its ingredients. La Crème has earned EWG-verified status, which means it is formulated with nontoxic ingredients. The EWG Skin Deep database is founded by the nonprofit Environmental Working Group. The database rates products from 1–10 based on how hazardous the ingredients are. La Crème has the lowest hazard rating, which is indicative of the brand’s commitment to transparency and accountability in the clean beauty industry.

I was also swayed by the clinical trial results published on La Crème’s product page. In clinical trials, 100% of users saw softer skin within 28 days, while 91% of users reported smoother, brighter skin. The brand’s ingredient transparency as well as the high percentage of positive results observed in the clinical trials convinced me to try the product for myself.

I used La Crème twice a day for one week and was impressed with the subtle results. I noticed my skin had a brighter appearance and a softer texture. The moisturizer is lightweight, but has a thick consistency, which is ideal for winter moisturizing. A small application went a long way, which means I’ll save money in the long run, because I won’t have to reorder too often.

The product absorbed smoothly, and I didn’t notice an oily, sticky film after application, as I usually do with thicker moisturizers. In the evenings I applied La Crème after a shower, and I noticed it quickly sinks into damp skin. My sensitive skin didn’t break out or become irritated, thanks to the simple yet gentle ingredients.

Since La Crème worked so well on my face, I decided to test it on other areas. It was easy to apply as a neck cream, although I did not see a noticeable difference in my neck’s firmness or fine lines. My hands tend to become dry and cracked with repeated applications of hand sanitizer. When I added La Crème into my nightly hand routine, the skin on my hands became noticeably softer and smoother. My dry hands developed a buttery texture, and the cream soaked in completely without leaving behind a greasy glaze. I noticed a greater improvement in texture when I started applying the cream to my hands twice a day.

Doré’s packaging is designed with the environment in mind. Product containers are made with PCR plastics. The materials can be recycled through Doré’s recycling program. The company takes a stance of environmental responsibility. Doré is a Plastic Neutral company through rePurpose Global. It holds itself accountable to ethical environmental standards by promising to eliminate the same amount of plastic it produces.

The packaging follows Doré’s minimalistic vision. La Crème is stored in a round, chic, Kelly green case with the company’s logo and the product’s name printed simply on the front. I was pleased to find a pump under La Crème’s cap, for easy application and fewer chances for contamination.

La Crème’s moisturizer is marketed for all people, and both men and women have reviewed their experiences favorably on Doré’s website. The ease of use, cleverness of packaging, and lightweight texture of the cream were praised repeatedly by consumers.

Doré is a skincare company that really does check all the boxes for clean, inexpensive, efficient, environmentally friendly skincare. It’s a brand that stands by its principles and delivers what it promises. Doré shows consumers how it keeps itself accountable to ethical business practices in the clean beauty industry. This elegant, minimalist brand is ideal for anyone looking to streamline their skincare routine and save some money for holidays!

--

--

Danielle Cappolla
0 Followers

Freelance writer, editor, and teacher